Loading...
Testimonials2018-04-25T19:52:31+00:00

REAL WORLD RESULTS

MMA Institute
4.9
powered by Facebook
Desmond Carter
Desmond Carter
2018-07-06T01:16:00+0000
I started at MMA Institue in October of 2017. Due to back surgery and knee surgery in November and December I did not train again until February 2018. THere is something special about the respect, hard and competitive training mixed with a culture that keeps humility at the forefront in this gym. There is plenty of fun, technique and hard training going on all day and often at the same time. I would recommend this gym and it’s classes to anyone young or old ... novice or veteran of mixed martial arts.
Yahsin Stephens
Yahsin Stephens
2018-04-20T00:36:44+0000
Kevin B Turner Sr.
Kevin B Turner Sr.
2018-03-05T13:18:57+0000
I miss working out here! Instructors and everyone here are absolutely fantastic and absolutely LOVED working with Rick (McCoy)! He has a way of explaining everything to where it makes perfect sense. Hope my schedule opens up and I can make it back out soon.
Daniella Ortega
Daniella Ortega
2017-11-29T18:55:31+0000
Jameel GoHard Shabazz
Jameel GoHard Shabazz
2017-11-06T10:13:07+0000
Rich Clarke
Rich Clarke
2017-10-12T23:47:33+0000
The best place to train MMA, jujitsu, Thai boxing, in Richmond. They have classes at all different hours and incredibly instructors and coaches. Also the best prices in town for all they offer. I have reaserched all the schools in Richmond and here u get the best at the best price also.
Sarah Whitmore
Sarah Whitmore
2017-10-06T01:35:22+0000
Reggie Booker
Reggie Booker
2017-09-28T16:37:01+0000
These amazing people have turned into my new family.
Mark Myers
Mark Myers
2017-09-28T12:30:04+0000
**EDIT - Because of the prompt and professional response (and ACTION) by the MMA Institute (thanks Rick), I am revising this review to reflect such. I do appreciate that the ownership of this gym takes this issue so seriously. I am leaving the original review text in place solely for context and to point out that the individual in this case is still an issue. As a community, I hope the MMA peeps take care of this guy on their own.** As much as I like to support local business - if you are looking for a GYM, you probably want to stay away from here, esp if you are black. Dusty Shaw, an employee of this gym (according to his FB profile) is randomly leaving racial slurs on black females profiles and IM's on Facebook and threatening others with physical violence (see screen shots below). As much as I support MMA and the right to work out in a sport of your choice, it obviously breeds anger and hate in some.
Josh Ellison
Josh Ellison
2017-09-23T23:49:33+0000
Zach Goins
Zach Goins
2017-09-06T17:25:30+0000
Tim Merriman
Tim Merriman
2017-08-20T00:06:28+0000
Joe Doja
Joe Doja
2017-08-06T17:00:22+0000
This place is great because of its great people. Ya it's a gym, and a nice one too, but it quickly becomes a home away from home, and a second family of choice.
Trey Martin
Trey Martin
2017-07-16T14:37:36+0000
Byron Copeland
Byron Copeland
2017-06-04T22:39:28+0000
Lorenzo Fuller
Lorenzo Fuller
2017-05-31T21:06:35+0000
Mark Thomas
Mark Thomas
2017-05-12T14:58:29+0000
This place rocks! If you want the best MMA training come to McCoy Martial Arts Institute! Don't settle for less than the best!
Miguel Ramirez
Miguel Ramirez
2017-05-08T05:51:41+0000
Teresa Myers Ryan
Teresa Myers Ryan
2017-04-29T13:39:36+0000
Josh Thomas
Josh Thomas
2017-04-20T21:57:41+0000
Preston Stephens
Preston Stephens
2017-04-05T00:59:37+0000
For sure the place to go to learn the arts of MMA. The trainers are nice and will help you correct your technique. They will show you what to do and what not to do. Everyone has a great attitude at the institute. The gym deserves 5 stars for sure.
D Loc Tn
D Loc Tn
2017-03-30T16:23:57+0000
Eric Wilborn
Eric Wilborn
2017-02-15T02:14:08+0000
��2 thumbs up.....my son and I go 2-3 days a week
Tactic AL
Tactic AL
2017-02-06T13:21:16+0000
Jon JB Burnley
Jon JB Burnley
2017-02-03T20:23:51+0000
Excellent facility! Excellent instructors! Excellent Team!
Jacob Young
Jacob Young
2017-02-03T19:44:10+0000
Gigi Lebbar
Gigi Lebbar
2017-02-03T19:33:56+0000
This is the best gym you will ever find in Richmond! Rick and his team are trully there to make sure that you are getting a great work out! I wholeheartedly recommend them!
Lisa Harris
Lisa Harris
2017-01-30T01:51:58+0000
Renée Forte
Renée Forte
2017-01-04T19:59:38+0000
Alvin Johnson
Alvin Johnson
2016-12-31T00:12:13+0000
Keith Bell
Keith Bell
2016-12-31T00:11:03+0000
Anyone who trains here will be a champion at some point. If its personal goals or in competition they make it easy to prosper at a high level. Plus i trained there so obv theyre the best �
Sean Arboleda
Sean Arboleda
2016-12-31T00:06:03+0000
Best gym around. Mma , grappling, jiu jitsu , Muay Thai, if you want to get in shape and shed some of those extra pounds for the new year this is the spot to be. ���
Shardaé Holmes
Shardaé Holmes
2016-12-30T23:08:42+0000
Abu Dey-ali
Abu Dey-ali
2016-12-30T22:26:00+0000
As a Professional fighter i have had the opportunity to train and learned to become a well rounded fighter. Coach McCoy always says there's levels to this sport.And i can vouch to say training with the MMA institute fight team the athletes that grace the mats are high level you will be the best training with the best at the too of the food chain in Virginia MMA. Ali"TheRedScorpion ".
Sean KreditUnion
Sean KreditUnion
2016-12-30T22:15:13+0000
Great place to learn and burn. If you train effectively the pounds will fall off quickly.
Dashawn Kimbo Boatwright
Dashawn Kimbo Boatwright
2016-12-30T22:12:47+0000
D'Juan Owens
D'Juan Owens
2016-12-30T20:58:24+0000
Jaime Veliz
Jaime Veliz
2016-12-15T03:01:12+0000
William Hall II
William Hall II
2016-12-02T02:38:39+0000
The best place in VA, great workout, great coaches, and it's worth the experience.
Zak Draego
Zak Draego
2016-11-30T17:26:20+0000
Debdeb Mahan
Debdeb Mahan
2016-10-29T20:44:32+0000
Tyler Cox
Tyler Cox
2016-10-13T21:19:10+0000
Will Parker
Will Parker
2016-10-11T12:46:37+0000
Rick and Joanna have the best spot in RVA! Great Coaching + Great Programming = Great Results. Amazing facility and awesome equipment inside. It's neat to see both kids and adults at work as one big family inside this busy gym. The program is for anyone and everyone should give it a try! P.S. - They sling kettlebells and have kickass conditioning classes as well
Jason Beaumont
Jason Beaumont
2016-10-04T03:45:56+0000
Both of my sons train there in the kid's program and compete in tournaments. Compared to other martial arts places I've trained at, this is by far the BEST!! The staff are knowledgable and friendly. Not only do they know what they're doing; but they also compete. It's like a second home to my sons and I. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND MMA INSTITUTE to anyone!!
Ricardo Tubbs
Ricardo Tubbs
2016-10-03T13:52:59+0000
Great time at MMA institute, everyone was welcoming and friendly. Great seminar with Clark Gracie, beautiful clean facility! We will definitely visit again soon.
Ronin Hanya
Ronin Hanya
2016-09-25T16:29:52+0000
Jackie Wardell White
Jackie Wardell White
2016-09-18T22:16:14+0000
We love it but it hard work The coach got u I just got started but we love it
Raeann McCarty
Raeann McCarty
2016-09-05T19:07:20+0000
Robbie Lillard
Robbie Lillard
2016-07-09T23:19:59+0000
Jeff Jordan
Jeff Jordan
2016-06-23T10:52:45+0000
High Value grappling class with Rick McCoy and great Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu classes with other instructors. Positive, welcoming, competitive environment in a big clean space. I'll be back.

FREE 30 Day Trial

Flexible membership packages to suit all levels of training to help achieve your fitness goals

JOIN US